CURIOUS MESSAGE

NEW YORK NEW YORK

Start spreading the news, I am leaving today.
I want to be a part of it, New York, New York.
These vagabond shoes, are longing to stray
Right through the very heart of it, New York, New York.

I want to wake up, In that city that doesn’t sleep.
And find I’m king of the hill, top of the heap.

My little town blues, They are melting away.
I gotta make a brand new start of it, in old New York.

If I can make it there,
I’ll make it anywhere.
It’s up to you, New York, New York.

New York, New York.
I want to wake up, in that city that never sleeps.
And find I’m Number 1, Top of the list, King of the hill, Aye Number 1…

These little town blues, they have melted away.
I’m about to make a brand new start of it,
New York, New York.

 

Ilovemsyelf7DEF

I don’t need to write who sang this iconic song, right? At a young age, I heard this song and was immediately struck. Mesmerized. Sold. This love ode to New York touched my young heart. I felt the vibe of the city that never sleeps across the Atlantic ocean in my tiny bedroom. I played the song over and over again. New York had already found its way into my imagination through movies;  this song gave it a heartbeat. I knew one day I would visit NY. Some of my favorite movies – The seven year itch, Breakfast at Tiffany’s, Fame, When Harry met Sally, Manhattan –  were filmed in this iconic city. And, ever since I’ve decided to work seriously on my screenwriting craft, I knew I wanted to live there, even if it would only be for a year. I think it’s a great place for creative minds.

At the beginning of this year , I felt that the image of New York was receding in my mind. Was I backing off? Didn’t I want to go anymore? Was this a trick of my mind to protect me? Was I afraid? In a guided group meditation, I looked for answers. Was my dream still valid or was I just afraid? How was I going to realize it? As soon as the meditation started, the words ‘San Fransisco’  popped up. Startled, I pushed away SF and replaced it with New York. Again, San Fransisco jumped up and the message that I should be heading towards SF. Angry, I pushed the message away, harder. No!  I want to go to New York, not SF. You can imagine I felt awful after this meditation session. I wanted answers and got riddles instead. On my way home, I remembered that SF had showed up earlier.  Once I was home, I found in my dairy a note, written 1.5 year ago,  ‘Buy ticket to visit San Fransisco and New York’, and one less than a year ago.  Strange. I stared at the page, wondering why should I go to SF. What’s there for me? Someone said it’s nearer to LA, the place to be if I want to work in the movie industry, and it fitted my outdoor personality better. I’m not convinced. I have no clue why my subconscious mind tells me to visit SF. I know, however, that our subconscious mind  knows things we don’t know. I’ve learnt that the hard way. Therefore, I’m open to explore what SF has to tell me. After all, some of my favorite movies and TV series were filmed there. Nothing has been decided. I’m open for wherever I need to be to serve my dream. Time will tell.

Some Movies Filmed in SF

  • The Maltese Falcon
  • Escape from Alcatraz
  • The Falcon in SF
  • Mrs. Doubtfire
  • Pacific Heights
  • Guess who’s coming for dinner
  • Just like Heaven
  • Dr. Who
  • Dr. Doolittle
  • Many more …

Some TV Series Filmed in SF

  • Monk
  • Charmed
  • Full House
  • The Streets of San Fransisco

 

 

Categories: Art, Personal Development

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

